Configuring the switch
Applied changes take effect on the switch immediately, but are lost the next time the switch is
rebooted, unless the Save command is selected. When you click Save, you have two save options:
Save and Save n. With Save, your new configuration changes are placed in the active
configuration block. The previous configuration is copied into the backup configuration block. If you
select Save n, your new configuration changes are placed in the active configuration block, and
the backup configuration block remains unchanged.
Input error checking
The BBI performs two levels of input error-checking, as follows:
Submit: When you click Submit on a Configuration form, the BBI checks the format and range
of pending configuration changes. For example, if you enter a value that is out of range (VLAN =
8097), a log error is generated.
Apply: When you click Apply to make pending changes active, the switch checks the validity of
pending configuration changes. For example, an invalid MIB OID can pass the format check during
Submit, if the format is correct. The invalid OID is rejected when you attempt to apply the