Download  Print this page

Cisco Tac Web Site; Cisco Tac Escalation Center - Cisco ONS 15501 User Manual

Hide thumbs


Obtaining Technical Assistance
Inquiries to Cisco TAC are categorized according to the urgency of the issue:
Which Cisco TAC resource you choose is based on the priority of the problem and the conditions of
service contracts, when applicable.

Cisco TAC Web Site

The Cisco TAC Web Site allows you to resolve P3 and P4 issues
site provides around-the-clock access to online tools, knowledge bases, and software. To access the
Cisco TAC Web Site, go to the following URL:
All customers, partners, and resellers who have a valid Cisco services contract have complete access to
the technical support resources on the Cisco TAC Web Site. The Cisco TAC Web Site requires a login ID and password. If you have a valid service contract but do not have a login ID or
password, go to the following URL to register:
If you cannot resolve your technical issues by using the Cisco TAC Web Site, and you are a
registered user, you can open a case online by using the TAC Case Open tool at the following URL:
If you have Internet access, it is recommended that you open P3 and P4 cases through the Cisco TAC
Web Site.

Cisco TAC Escalation Center

The Cisco TAC Escalation Center addresses issues that are classified as priority level 1 or priority
level 2; these classifications are assigned when severe network degradation significantly impacts
business operations. When you contact the TAC Escalation Center with a P1 or P2 problem, a Cisco TAC
engineer will automatically open a case.
To obtain a directory of toll-free Cisco TAC telephone numbers for your country, go to the following
Before calling, please check with your network operations center to determine the level of Cisco support
services to which your company is entitled; for example, SMARTnet, SMARTnet Onsite, or Network
Supported Accounts (NSA). In addition, please have available your service agreement number and your
product serial number.
Cisco ONS 15501 User Guide
2 2 F e b r u a r y 2 0 0 2
Priority level 4 (P4)—You need information or assistance concerning Cisco product capabilities,
product installation, or basic product configuration.
Priority level 3 (P3)—Your network performance is degraded. Network functionality is noticeably
impaired, but most business operations continue.
Priority level 2 (P2)—Your production network is severely degraded, affecting significant aspects
of business operations. No workaround is available.
Priority level 1 (P1)—Your production network is down, and a critical impact to business operations
will occur if service is not restored quickly. No workaround is available.
saving both cost and time. The
78-14134-01, Release 1.0



  Related Manuals for Cisco ONS 15501