Section 3 — Information Security
3. Send/Scan Job:
Performance Impact Using the HDD Data Erase Kit
It is important to note that the HDD Data Erase Kit settings can affect overall performance of the
device depending on what types of jobs are being submitted to the device, and the selected level of
overwrite protection. If many large jobs are sent to the device with the 'Overwrite Three Times' option
selected, then delays, although minimal, should be expected for devices with speeds over 50 images
per minute (ipm). For devices with speeds lower than 50 ipm, HDD Erase Kit related settings will have
no impact on performance.
Removable HDD Kit
The imageRUNNER Removable HDD Data Kit option provides a means for system
administrators to physically lock the device's internal hard disk drive into the system during
normal operation, thereby decreasing the risk of theft. Once the device has been powered down,
the drive can be unlocked and removed for storage in a secure location.
Job Log Conceal Screen
b. Send/Scan Data
When a user sends or scans a job to another destination, all page data will be deleted or
overwritten immediately after the entire job has been sent.
When the "Fax Activity Report" function is set to 'On', the data will be overwritten
immediately after the device receives confirmation of a successful transmission.
If the failed transmission occurs, the data will remain while the device retries. If the "Fax
Activity Report" is set to "off" all data will be deleted at once.
Job Log Conceal Function
The standard Job Log Conceal function ensures that jobs processed
through the device are not visible to a walk up user or through the
Remote UI. The Job Log information although concealed, is still
accessible by the administrator, who can print the Job Log to show
copy, fax, print and scan usage on the device. The administrator can
select [On] or [Off] for Job Log Conceal under Settings / Registration
> Management Settings > Device Management > Display Log.
When [On] is selected, the job log is displayed. If Job Log Display is
set to [Off], the following features and settings will not be displayed
on screen or activated:
The default setting for Job Log Conceal is [Off].
Copy, send, fax, and, print log from System Monitor
Receive from system monitor Send Activity management
report when equipped with Canon's optional Scan and Send
Fax Activity management report
Auto print is set to [Off] disabling the Daily Send & Fax
White Paper: Canon imageRUNNER ADVANCE Security