As part of setting up the private storage area, all files in the public storage area [except fingerprint
data, password data, certificate(s), cryptographic key(s) and User Manager software] will be
deleted. Please backup files in the public storage area before doing this operation, if needed.
1. Start User Manager and click [Resize].
2. The [Resize Private Storage Area] dialog box will appear. You can slide the bar on the
right side to set the size of the private storage area. As you slide the bar, the memory
allocated to the private storage area will increase/decrease. You can also enter a number
from 0 (0MB) to 62 (62MB) into the box. If you enter "0", the private storage area will
not be created.
Below is an example of setting the private storage area to 30MB.
3. Click [Change] after setting the size of the private storage area. A confirmation message
All files in the public storage area will be deleted (Fingerprint data,
password data, certificate(s), cryptographic key(s) and User Manager software will NOT
deleted). Click [Yes].
4. A message saying, "Formatting..." will appear. It may take a few minutes to format. DO
NOT disconnect the Puppy unit until the operation is complete. A message saying,
"Puppy unit formatted" will appear when the operation is finished.
5. Click [OK].
You can come back and change this size at any time, but remember that your files will be erased
every time you re-partition the drive. For information about how to access the drive, please see
Setting Up Your Windows Account for Fingerprint Logon
The Windows Account is a set of information used to log into Windows, and it includes user
name, password, domain and so on. By registering this information, you can log into Windows
automatically with the Puppy unit. Both local and domain accounts can be accessed in this way.
Training Your Puppy® Unit
Figure 1: Setting 30MB as a private storage area