Download Print this page

Description - IBM Ethernet Switch r-series User Manual

R-series high-capacity modular ethernet switches for versatile deployment
Hide thumbs



IBM Ethernet r-series switches are designed to help address the needs of data
centers and large enterprises where high-density Ethernet switches are needed. IBM
Ethernet r-series switches include the four slot IBM Ethernet Switch B04R (4003-
R04), eight slot IBM Ethernet Switch B08R (4003-R08), sixteen slot IBM Ethernet
Switch B16R (4003-R16), and thirty-two slot IBM Ethernet Switch B32R (4003-R32)
models. These switches offer high port capacity and density, based on the number of
available slots, with up to 512 10-Gigabit Ethernet or 1536 1-Gigabit Ethernet ports
in a single 32-slot chassis.
The IBM Ethernet r-series switches are designed for nonstop operation, supporting
1:1 management module redundancy, N+1 switch module redundancy, M+N power
module redundancy, and N+1 fan redundancy. Each of these hardware components
are hot-swappable, reducing service downtime. This hardware resiliency is designed
to be enhanced with software resiliency including system failover, restart, MRP,
VSRP, and VRRP for Layer 2 and Layer 3 resiliency.
Systems configured with dual management modules have subsection detection and
failover. Hitless Management Failover (HMF) ensures that the forwarding engines on
the line modules are not impacted by a management failover, and enables nonstop
packet forwarding during a management failover. With hitless Layer 2 software
upgrades and graceful restart routing, fast convergence occurs in the event of a
management module failure.
The IBM Ethernet r-series switches are designed to help network planners deploy
an Ethernet infrastructure that addresses today's requirements with a scalable
architecture designed to support network growth and evolution. The switches
incorporate the latest advances in switch architecture, system resilience, quality of
service (QoS) and switch security in a family of modular chassis settings.
The switch architecture is an adaptive self-routing Clos switch fabric with a virtual
output queue (VOQ) design. This nonblocking architecture is optimized for maximum
throughput and low latency for all size packets. This scalable design can help with
the reliable delivery of all IP-based voice, video, and data applications.
The switches ship with the Brocade IronWare software, embedded sFlow per
port, advanced IPv4/IPv6 Ethernet Layer 2 switching, IPv4/IPv6 L3 routing, and
multilayer security services.
The IBM Ethernet r-series switches are designed to support industry-leading
Layer 2 features. To provide self-healing topologies in Layer 2 configurations, the
switches support industry standard Ethernet protocols including Spanning Tree
IBM Europe, Middle East, and Africa
Hardware Announcement ZG09-0629
IBM is a registered trademark of International Business Machines Corporation



  Related Manuals for IBM Ethernet Switch r-series

This manual is also suitable for: