where are your friends & family?
Keep track of where your friends and family are on
Maps. Plan to meet up, check that your parents got
home safely, or just stay in touch.
Don't worry, your location is not shared unless you
agree to it. You need to join Latitude, and then invite
your friends to view your location or accept their
invitations. When using Maps (in any mode except in
Street View), touch Menu
Add & remove friends
To add friends:
> Add friends.
Touch Select from Contacts, then touch a contact.
Or, touch Add via email address, then enter an
Touch Add friends.
If your friends already use Latitude, they'll receive an
email request and a notification. If they have not yet
> Join Latitude. Read
Maps > Menu
joined Latitude, they'll receive an email request that
invites them to sign in to Latitude with their Google
To remove friends:
> Latitude to show your friend's
list, then touch a friend in your list.
Touch Remove this friend.
When you receive a request to share location details
you can choose to:
Accept and share back—See your friend's
location, and your friend can see yours.
Accept, but hide my location—See your friend's
location, but they can't see yours.
Don't accept—Location information is not shared
between you and your friend.
Hide your location
To hide your location from a friend, touch Menu
> Latitude to show your friend's list. Touch your
contact name, then touch Menu
settings > Hide your location.
> Edit privacy