Download  Print this page

Saving Configurations While Using The Cli - HP 2610 User Manual

Version r.11.25 software procurve 2610 series
Hide thumbs

Advertisement

Downloading Software to the Switch

Saving Configurations While Using the CLI

Saving Configurations While Using the CLI
The switch operates with two configuration files:
Running-Config File: Exists in volatile memory and controls switch operation. Rebooting
the switch erases the current running-config file and replaces it with an exact copy of the
current startup-config file. To save a configuration change, you must save the running
configuration to the startup-config file.
Startup-Config File: Exists in flash (non-volatile) memory and preserves the most recently-
saved configuration as the "permanent" configuration. When the switch reboots for any
reason, an exact copy of the current startup-config file becomes the new running-config file
in volatile memory.
When you use the CLI to make a configuration change, the switch places the change in the running-
config file. If you want to preserve the change across reboots, you must save the change to the startup-
config file. Otherwise, the next time the switch reboots, the change will be lost. There are two ways
to save configuration changes while using the CLI:
Execute write memory from the Manager, Global, or Context configuration level.
When exiting from the CLI to the Main Menu, press [Y] (for Yes) when you see the "Do you
want to save current configuration [y/n]?" prompt.
5

Hide quick links:

Advertisement

loading

  Related Manuals for HP 2610

  Related Content for HP 2610