DPM display during winding
This is the DPM display in Fast Forward mode:
This is the DPM display in Fast Rewind mode:
The winding speed starts at 5 times the playback speed. After two seconds it is accelerated to 10 times the
playback speed; after eight seconds to 20 times and after thirty seconds to 100 times the playback speed.
The DEL button on the DPM can be used for two purposes: deleting a section from a sound file and deleting the
whole sound file.
Deleting a section
To delete a section from the current dictation, do the following:
1. Go to the beginning of a section which is to be deleted by using Fast Forward ( ), Fast Rewind ( ) or Play ( ).
Make sure the DPM is in Stop mode and press the DEL (Delete) button once.
2. Use either Play, Fast Forward or Fast Rewind to go to the end of the section that is to be deleted, bring the
DPM into Stop mode and press the DEL button again.
3. Confirm the operation by pressing the DEL button again for at least two seconds and the section is deleted
permanently from the file.
The waste bin symbol indicates that the section has been deleted.
Deleting a file
To permanently delete an entire sound file, do the following:
1. If you do not have the file you want to delete already open, go to the file by moving the Jog Dial up or down.
2. Confirm the file selection by pressing the Jog Dial and make sure that the DPM is in Stop mode.
3. Press the DEL (Delete) button for at least two seconds.
An X symbol appears at the beginning and the end of the file to indicate that the sound file is marked to be
4. Confirm the operation by pressing the DEL button again for at least two seconds.
Note: To cancel any delete operation, move the Jog Dial or press the REC, Fast Forward, Play or Fast
Rewind button. Dictations which have been finished with the EOL (End-of-Letter) indication cannot be deleted
unless the EOL indication is removed from the file.
DPM 9220 - User Manual