Solving Pr oblems
Windows XP provides a System Restore feature that allows you to return
your computer to an earlier operating state if changes to the computer's
hardware or software (including new hardware or program installations), or
other system settings, have left the computer in an undesirable operating
state. You can also undo the last System Restore.
System Restore automatically creates system checkpoints. You can also
manually create your own checkpoints by creating Restore Points. To limit
the amount of hard disk space used, older restore points will be
If your computer experiences an operating system problem, you can use
System Restore from Safe Mode or Normal Mode to return your computer
to an earlier operating state.
System Restore does not cause you to lose personal files stored in the My
Documents folder, data files, or e-mail messages after restoring the
computer to an earlier time. If you restore the computer to a point before
you installed a program, the program's data files won't be lost, but you will
have to reinstall the actual program again.
It is important to make regular backups of your data files. System
Restore does not monitor changes to or recover your data files. If the original
data on the hard disk is accidentally erased or overwritten, or becomes
inaccessible because of a hard disk malfunction, you will need your backup
files to recover the lost or damaged data.
System Restore is enabled on your new computer. However, if you reinstall
Windows XP with less than 200 MB of free hard-disk space available,
System Restore is automatically disabled. To see if System Restore is
Click the Start button, and then click Control Panel.
Click Performance and Maintenance.
Click the System Restore tab.
Make sure that Turn off System Restore is unchecked.