Network Printer Status
Viewing the print status
The status of a network printer can be viewed on the print server as well
as the client.
For job status to be displayed in the client's Status Window, the print
server's Status Window must be running.
If the status option "Display Printer Status Window while printing," has
been selected on the client, the client's Status Window opens
automatically once printing from the server starts.
If an error occurs on the server, the client's Status Window for that job
If the client's Status Window opens automatically, it closes automatically
when printing completes or the error is canceled, unless the user
interacted with the window or its menus.
Performing print job operations
Print job operations (pause, resume, delete) may be performed from
either the print server or the client for that job. After a client performs a
print operation, no other operations are allowed until the server conﬁrms
that the operation has been accepted.
In Windows 95/98/Me, print job operations cannot be selected on any
other screen except the print server or client for that job. In Windows NT
4.0/2000/XP any authorized user can perform print job operations.
If the print server's Status Window is not running, you cannot perform job
operations on the client. The client's Status Window displays the message
"Check Print Server."
Audio messages for jobs play on the client and on the print server.
Using the Canon Advanced Printing Technology