Download  Print this page

Discharging A Patient - Philips IntelliVue MP5 Instructions For Use Manual

Patient monitor.
Hide thumbs

Advertisement

Table of Contents
6 Managing Patients

Discharging a Patient

Always perform a discharge before starting monitoring for a new patient, even if your previous patient
WARNING
was not admitted. Failure to do so can lead to data being attributed to the wrong patient.
A discharge:
– clears the information in the Patient Demographics window
– erases all patient data (such as trend, event, and calculation data) from the monitor and
Information Center. This ensures that data from a previous patient are not mixed with data from
the new patient.
– resets patient category and paced settings to the settings defined in the default Profile
– resets all monitor and measurement settings as well as the active Screen to the settings defined in
the default Profile
– discharges the patient from the Information Center.
When a patient is discharged from the monitor or from an Information Center, all patient data is
deleted. Make sure that you have printed out any required reports before discharging. Check that a
functioning central printer is available before you use End Case.
To discharge a patient,
Select the patient name field or select the Admit/Dischrge SmartKey to open the
1
Patient Demographics window and associated pop-up keys.
Select the pop-up key for either:
2
– End Case - to print any configured end case reports or vital signs recording, discharge the
patient and clear the patient database, then enter standby mode. If an End Case SmartKey is
configured for your monitor, you can also select this instead and then confirm.
To see which end case reports are set up for your monitor, select Main Setup -> Reports ->
Auto Reports. For each auto report, if End Case Report is set to On, this report will
be printed when you select End Case. See the section on AutoReports for information on
setting up end case reports.
– Dischrge Patient - to discharge the patient without printing any reports.
New Patient Check
The monitor can be configured to ask you in certain situations:
• after a specified power-off period
• after a specified standby period
• when no basic vitals (HR, RR, Pulse, SpO
whether a new patient is now being monitored. The pop-up window is entitled Is this a new
Patient?. The monitor offers a Yes key to discharge the previous patient and begin monitoring a
new patient and a No key to continue monitoring with the current patient data and settings.
The time periods for the three conditions can be configured independently.
88
, NBP) have been measured for a specified period
2
Discharging a Patient

Advertisement

Table of Contents

Comments to this Manuals

Symbols: 0
Latest comments: