Don't worry, your location is not shared unless you
agree to it. You need to join Latitude, and then invite
your friends to view your location or accept their
invitations. When using Google Maps (in any mode
except in Street View), press Menu
with it, choose to continue.
Add & remove friends
Maps > Menu
To add friends:
> Add friends.
Touch Select from Contacts or Add via email
address, then touch a contact and Add friends.
If your friends already use Latitude, they'll receive an
email request and a notification. If they have not yet
joined Latitude, they'll receive an email request that
invites them to sign in to Latitude with their Google
To remove friends:
> Latitude to show your friends
list, then touch a friend in your list.
When you receive a request to share location details
you can choose to:
Accept and share back—see your friends location,
and your friend can see yours.
Accept, but hide my location—see your friend's
location, but they can't see yours.
Don't accept—location information is not shared
between you and your friend.
Hide your location
To hide your location from a friend, press Menu
Latitude to show your friends list. Touch your contact
name, then press Menu
Turn off Latitude
> Latitude to show your friends list.
> Privacy > Turn off Latitude.
> Privacy > Hide your